[Honorary Chairperson]
Soichiro Fukutake, Honorary Adviser, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
Hiroshi Yokokawa, President, Japan Association of Athletics Federations
Nobuhiro Tajima, Chairman and CEO, Tajima Motor Corporation
Eriko Araki, General Manager, Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles
Hiroshi Fujiwara, Chairman, President and CEO, BroadBand Tower, Inc.
Hitoshi Arima, President, Arima Management Design, Ltd. Chairman, Yokohama Smart Community Kazunobu
Sato, Chairman, Ehime EV Promoters Association, Ehime Industrial Promotion Foundation
Kohei Kusaka, Director, School of Engineering, The University of Tokyo
Mamoru Shiiki, Assistant General Manager, Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles
Takahiro Suzuki, Professor, New Industry Creation Hatchery Center, Tohoku University
Yoshihiko Kamiaraiso, Assistant General Manager, Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles

( In alphabetical order)
Hisato Hoshi, Corporate Adviser, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
Keiko Ihara, Racing driver, Independent Director, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd ., Associate Professor, Keio University Graduate school Media design.
Ken Okuyama, Industrial Designer, CEO, Ken Okuyama Design.
Tadashi Tateuchi, Automotive Critic
Yoichiro Kawaguchi, CG artist, Emeritus professor, University of Tokyo.
Yoshihisa Murasawa, Visiting Professor, Ritsumeikan University
Yusaku Sato
[Administrative Office]
Araki / Kamiaraiso / Shiiki / Yasujima / Kohori


Soichiro Fukutake
Soichiro Fukutake

Honorary Adviser, Benesse Holdings, Inc.
Representative, Benesse Art Site Naoshima
President, Naoshima Fukutake Art Museum Foundation

Born in Okayama Prefecture in 1945. Graduated from Faculty of Science and Engineering, Waseda University in 1969. Entered Fukutake Publishing Co.,Ltd. (Currently Benesse Corporation) in 1973. Became representative director of the company in 1986, company chairman and CEO in 2007, and is incumbent in 2009. Commenced the Naoshima Project in 1987 and implemented an initiative to revitalize Naoshima, Kagawa Prefecture, through nature and art. Won the 1998 Mecenat International Award. Won the 13th Iwakiri Shotaro Award in the year 2000. Opened Chichu (underground) Art Museum at Benesse Art Site Naoshima in 2004 and won the 2006 Mecenat Grand Award for his continuous activities in art in Naoshima. Named as a Person of Cultural Merit in Kagawa Prefecture in the same year. Won the 2008 Art Encouragement Prize.


Hiroshi Yokokawa
Hiroshi Yokokawa

President, Japan Association of Athletics Federations

Born in Tokyo in 1947. Graduated from the University of Tokyo Faculty of Law in 1970. Entered the Ministry of International Trade and Industry in 1970. After being assigned to the Consulate-General of Japan in New York, Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1987, was appointed Chief of Police, Aomori Prefecture in 1991, Bureau Chief, Kansai Bureau of Economy, Trade and Industry in 1996, and Bureau Chief, Consumer Goods Industries Bureau, Ministry of International Trade and Industry in 1999. After holding the posts of Chairman of the Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO), Vice President of Osaka Gas and President of The Japan Commercial Arbitration Association, is now working at his current post. Appointed President, Tokyo Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games in 2014.

Chief Commissioner

Nobuhiro Tajima
Nobuhiro Tajima

Chairman and CEO Tajima Motor Corporation

Born in Ishikawa Prefecture in 1950. Graduated from Kokushikan University School of Engineering. Debuted in racing in 1968. Acquired the nickname “Monster” due to his exciting driving style, a name by which he is known in America and Europe as the driver representing Japan and Asia.
Nine times all Japan champion in the Japan Dirt Trial Championships, seven times consecutively. Competed vigorously as a pioneering Japanese team member in international rallies overseas from 1970s, received public recognition as Asia's best driver in the 1979 Australia Rally. Participated in the America Pikes Peak International Hillclimb from 1988 and made the outstanding achievement of the first Japanese overall victory in 1995. Then went on to break the course record in the same event in 2007, which had remained intact for 13 years, accomplishing the great feats of establishing a new world record, which he continues to hold to this day. Accomplished overall victory eight times in the New Zealand Race to the Sky, acquiring him the nickname “King of the Mountain”. Cultivated the outstanding result of being five-time champion in the two-wheel division of the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship (APRC) including four consecutive years from 1995 to 1998. Also repeatedly won overall victory in the two-wheel division of the Hong Kong?Beijing Rally, known to be exceedingly tough, and is even now going strong as a competitor that represents the world of Asian rally.
Proactively engaged in the cultivation of the next generation, sponsoring events, such as the JAF All Japan Dirt Trial Championship and JAF Kanto Dirt Trial Championship, and assisting in the development of motor sports and the improvement of driving techniques. He has also authored the book “Dirt Koryaku Technique (Techniques to Conquer Dirt-Driving)”, which has become a bible for dirt drivers.
Furthermore, he also holds country-wide safe driving forums that aim to improve necessary skills and techniques in driving safely.
Leveraging his experience and achievements in motor sports, he established Monster International Co., Ltd. in December 1983 (reorganized and name changed to TAJIMA MOTOR CORPORATION in November 2005), to fulfil his wish to be of assistance to even more motorsports enthusiasts. In May 1986, he concluded a tie-up with Suzuki Motor Co., Ltd (Currently SUZUKI MOTOR CORPORATION) and established SUZUKI SPORT to manage Suzuki’s four-wheel motor sports. SUZUKI SPORT performs research, development and manufacture of sports cars and prototype vehicles. In 2002 he was inaugurated as the director of the FIA Junior World Rally Championship (JWRC) project, creating a foothold and an organization by which to expand globally. In 2007 he implemented a participation project for the FIA World Rally Championship, the pinnacle category of rallies and assumed the position of and directed as team manager. Then in 2009, based on his achievements cultivated in the motorsport world over many years he established Natural Energy Division to research and develop next-generation energies and motorization. His busy days are spent active in many locations around the world.

Return to Top

Join us

The membership of the Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles is open to business enterprises which consider the commercialization of their electric vehicles, or individuals who would like to support the electric vehicle industry.Click here for the application process

Member Login

Download APEV Report (English)

Guidelines for Converted Electric Vehicles (First Draft) download (English)

EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest